Blueberry Muffins

Breakfast is often rushed at our house. By the time everyone is up and dressed and the morning chores are done there isn’t much time before the kids have to leave for school. Cereal is quick and easy, but it can get expensive. And the more inexpensive cereals are the ones with the most sugar! I have started only buying cereal if it’s on sale, and I have a coupon to match. If I can buy a box of cereal for less that $1, I feel like it’s worth it, but spending $4 a box is outrageous. Cereal used to be the main event at the Cook household every morning. Not anymore!

One of things my kids love are muffins. They are easy to grab on a busy morning and a whole lot better than say…a poptart. And they are much cheaper. I have made blueberry muffins so many different ways, but I recently came across this recipe. It is by far the best one yet, and it’s very simple.

Ingredients:
4 eggs
2 cups white sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup vegetable oil
4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 cups sour cream
2 cups fresh blueberries ( I use frozen dusted with flour so the color doesn’t run)

Instructions:
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Grease 24 muffin cups or line with paper muffin liners.

In a large bowl, beat eggs and sugar a little at a time while beating. Continue beating and slowly pour in oil while beating. Beat until well combined. Stir in vanilla extract.

In a separate bowl mix together flour, baking soda and salt. With a spatula or spoon stir together flour mixture with the egg mixture alternately with the sour cream. Stir until well combined. Fold in blueberries. (This makes 24 nice sized muffins. The muffin cups should be full.)

Bake in the oven at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.

I got this recipe from blogchef.net

Let me know what you think!

One response to “Blueberry Muffins

  1. Tried these this morning – they are fabulous! I actually substituted 1 of the cups of flour for quick oats. I’m wondering if I could get by with 1/2 flour and1/2 oats. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe! The sour cream makes them heavenly.

Leave a Reply

