Sugar Drop Cookies

Here is a great sugar cookie recipe my Aunt Cora gave me. My kids love these. We make them for nearly every holiday and just switch out different shapes and themed sprinkles.

1 cup white sugar
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup shortening
1 cup milk
4 cups flour
3 eggs
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 Tablespoons vanilla
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt

Mix sugars and shortening. Add eggs and vanilla. Combine dry ingredients and add to sugar mixture alternately with milk.

This dough is very sticky. If rolling out, add 1 cup of flour and freeze overnight. When you go to roll this out you will need to add a good bit more flour.

Bake at 350 degrees for approximately 10-12 minutes or until the top springs back when tapped lightly.

**I always cut these out and I never put them in the freezer overnight. I don’t usually think about it ahead of time.
I simply add more flour when I make the dough. I add nearly 7 cups of flour total. You should be able to judge the consistency. You want it to be manageable, but remember you will add some flour when you go to roll them out.

These are wonderful! We ice them and add sprinkles or nonpareils.

I don’t actually have a recipe for the icing. I just dump.

Confectioners sugar
Milk
A teaspoon or so of flavoring of your choice – We like lemon flavoring, but you can use vanilla, almond or whatever
you like.

Start with about 2 cups of the powdered sugar and enough milk to get it to a good consistency. I usually make it fairly thin. You can always mix up more. You can add food coloring if you’d like.

These are sure to be a hit!

Leave a Reply

