10 Years and Counting

10 years ago today, a 20-year-old single mom of two little boys, married their 21-year-old rough-around-the-edges father. She had no idea what she was getting into, nor did he. Up until that day, through no fault of his own, he was only their father, he never really had the chance to be their dad.

Their first year together was rough. They were learning how to make things work. Their family grew. It grew and it grew. And as it grew, they faced more and more challenges, but they faced them together.

In 2007, they moved their family 350 miles away from everything they had ever known. The kids made friends quickly, but they struggled through, thinking of everything they had left behind.

As time went on, their love grew. This move, though incredibly difficult, proved to be very strengthening for not only their marriage, but for their family as a whole.

She grew more in love with him everyday, not even knowing that it was possible to love anymore.

Ten years ago today, I married a 21-year-old rough-around-the-edges truck driver. Today, I am married to an amazing man who has become the most wonderful husband and father. He has exceeded all of my expectations and shown me a love I could have never imagined. He is such a great father to our five amazing children and as the children grow and we face new challenges, he continues to step up to the plate and face them head on.

He is such an incredible husband. He makes up for my weaknesses and gives me strength when I am wavering. He is patient with my blonde moments and loves me regardless of my shortcomings. He encourages me when I am feeling insufficient and forgives my mistakes. He puts aside his desires to focus on the wants and needs of our family.

I am so blessed to have spent the past 10 years to getting know him and watching him grow into the amazing man that he is today. I have fallen so in-love with him and that love just continues grow.

Thank you so much for sharing your life with me. I can’t wait to see what new adventures God has in store for us in the next 10 years!

You are the love of my life! I am so proud to call you my mine!

I love you! Happy Anniversary!

Leave a Reply

