Gallery

Take Time

It’s so easy, day in and day out, to get caught up in the mundaneness of life. We’re so busy surviving, that we sometimes forget to slow down and really take things in. There have been instances when I’m busy and I hear the dreaded “Mom..mom…MOM!” Finally, I turn and say, in a not so gentle voice “WHAT?” To this I hear, “I love you, Mom.” So often I find myself so consumed by what I am doing, that I don’t stop to take in those special moments of “Mom, I love you.”

In this crazy world we need to spend less time focussing on the things that we feel we have to do and more on the things that we need to do. There are things that have to be done, but there’s no reason I can’t stop washing dishes to hear my 7-year-old sing me a song. One day when I turn around she’ll be 22 and the song will be done.

Take time to invest in what you love. Where you spend your time is a great indicator of what is important to you.

Matthew 6:21 says “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

Time is such a treasure! Give of it generously to those you love!

“How you spend your time is more important than how you spend your money. Money mistakes can be corrected, but time is gone forever.” — David Norris

Whether you are missing some of those special moments with your spouse or child is all relevant. On this merry-go-round called life, take time. Take time to have date night once a week, even though you’d rather sit on the couch in your pj’s. Take time to go on a weekend get-away to give your marriage a quick boost, even though you don’t really want to leave the kids over night. Take time to listen when your spouse or child is talking to you, even though you’re in the middle of a really good book. Take time to push your daughter on the swing or throw a few pitches to your son, even though you’ve been busy all day and all you want to do is relax. Take time to volunteer in your child’s class at school, even though you have so many things to do at home. Take time to watch your children interact with each other. Watch them laugh. Watch them grow. Watch them share special moments together, even though you could do it tomorrow.

“Never put off till tomorrow what you can do today.”
-Thomas Jefferson

Tomorrow may never come.

“Time is how you spend your love.” — Zadie Smith

Love is spelled T-I-M-E.

Leave a Reply

