My Happiness Project

About a year ago I read the book “The Happiness Project” by Gretchen Rubin.

It’s not a “Christian” book, but I enjoyed it and thought the concept of the book was great. I decided that I was going to do my own “happiness project”, but it only lasted a few weeks.

This year, I, once again, am feeling compelled to try. I’m hoping that in sharing this here, it will motivate me to stick with it.

The author started her project in January, but personally, September is a better fit for me. Summer has ended, and life gets back to normal routine. I used to dislike the idea of routine, but not anymore. I love routine!

The Happiness Project in a nut shell.

Before Gretchen began her project, she came up with twelve commandments. Here they are:

Twelve Commandments
1. Be Gretchen.
2. Let it go.
3. Act the way I want to feel.
4. Do it now.
5. Be polite and be fair.
6. Enjoy the process.
7. Spend out.
8. Identify the problem.
9. Lighten up.
10. Do what ought to be done.
11. No calculation.
12. There is only love.

Choose a resolution for each month.
These were Gretchen’s resolutions.

January
Vitality: Boost Energy
*Go to sleep earlier.
*Exercise Better.
*Toss, Restore, Organize.
*Tackle a nagging task.
*Act more energetic.

February
Marriage: Remember Love
*Quit nagging.
*Don’t expect praise or appreciation.
*Fight right.
*No dumping.
*Give proofs of love.

March
Work: Aim Higher
*Launch a blog.
*Enjoy the fun of failure.
*Ask for help.
*Work smart.
*Enjoy now.

April
Parenthood: Lighten Up.
*Sing in the morning.
*Acknowledge the reality of people’s feelings.
*Be a treasure house of memories.
*Take time for projects.

May
Leisure: Be Serious About Play
*Find more fun.
*Take time to be silly.
*Go off the path.
*Start a collection.

June
Friendship: Make Time for Friends
*Remember birthdays.
*Be generous.
*Show up.
*Don’t gossip.
*Make three new friends.

July
Money: Buy Some Happiness
*Indulge in a modest splurge.
*Buy needful things.
*Spend out.
*Give something up.

August
Eternity: Contemplate the Heavens
*Read memoirs of catastrophe.
*Keep a gratitude notebook.
*Imitate a spiritual master.

September
Books: Pursue a Passion
*Write a novel.
*Make time.
*Forget about the results.
*Master a new technology.

October
Mindfulness: Pay Attention
*Meditate on koans.
*Examine True Rules.
*Stimulate the mind in new ways.
*Keep a food diary.

November
Attitude: Keep a Contented Heart
*Laugh out loud.
*Use good manners.
*Give positive reviews.
Find an area of refuge.

December
Happiness: Boot Camp Perfect
*Boot Camp Perfect

(Shared with permission from Gretchen Rubin.)

The goal for the first month is to keep only those resolutions. The next month, add those resolutions to the first month and so on.

I will be starting my Happiness Project one week from today, September 1st. Over the next week I will share with you my personal Twelve Commandments and resolutions. I encourage you to start your own Happiness Project and really live your life, not just let it pass you by.

2 responses to “My Happiness Project

  1. Pamela,
    I really like this blog. i think I will be coming back to it more then once. It is a lot of info and inspiring. Thanks for taking the time to share it all.

    Love to you,
    Lydia

  2. Thanks for the kind words, Lydia!

Leave a Reply

