Gallery

Gotta Have Faith

Faith is believing without seeing, or without having ‘proof’. There are some areas of my life in which I don’t struggle with having faith, while other areas it is a constant struggle. I have faith in Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior. I do not doubt His existence in any way, even though I have never seen Him with my own eyes. I have had experiences in my life when I knew there was no explanation, other than God. I have never had a hard time having faith to know that there is a God and that He sent His only Son to pay the price for my sin. I have faith in Him, knowing and believing that He is the only way to have everlasting life. These things aren’t difficult for me. I was raised to believe this and have never really questioned it.

I know that He ultimately has control of everything. I know that He controls the wind and rain and that He knows the number of hairs on my head. I believe that He holds the future in His hands and is all-knowing. Although I have faith in God to save my soul, I don’t always have faith in Him for other, smaller, things. For instance,in the spring Hunter came home and announced to me that his job might be in jeopardy. He works on a farm and God had provided us with SO much rain, that they were having a hard time getting into the fields to plant. No crop equals no harvest, equals no work, equals no pay. We have five children and he is the sole bread-winner for our family.

My immediate thought was I know everything will be okay. God is in control. He will take care of us. There is NO way He would allow Hunter to lose his job. God would not allow that to happen. There is no way He would put us through that. The following day, I realized how absurd that was. It’s very possible that God would allow that to happen. Sometimes we get complacent and need to be shook up a little. My faith needed to be adjusted. In the case He does allow Hunter to lose his job, I need to have faith to know that He will provide.

Leave a Reply

