Gallery

Finding Pure Joy: The Journey Week 1

My “finding pure joy” journey is off to a not-so-good start. Often in life, there are times when things don’t go exactly how we planned. Originally, I thought I would begin my project on September 1, but then I decided it made more sense to wait and start on the first day of school, which was September 6. Here’s a recap of my September goals:

Get Energized: Heart, Health, Home

Don’t over sleep.
Don’t stay up late.
Daily quiet time.
Intentional exercise.
Choose Healthy.
Don’t let daily chores go undone.
Declutter.

My verse: But be very careful to keep the commandment and the law that Moses the servant of the LORD gave you: to love the LORD your God, to walk in obedience to him, to keep his commands, to hold fast to him and to serve him with all your heart and with all your soul.” Joshua 22:5

Song for the month: Mercy Me “Move”

While I succeeded at getting up on time every morning, I failed in nearly every other area. As a matter of fact, by the end of the week, I was more exhausted than I have been in a while. So much for getting energized. I went to bed late every night, my quiet time consisted of short prayers sporadically through the day. My daily chores were completed for the most part and I did manage to declutter some of my paper mountains, yet it still felt like a fail to me. As far as intentional exercise, well, let’s just say that didn’t happen. Looking at my checklist, the first week looks and feels like a bust, but when I look at the big picture of the week, it doesn’t so bad.

What did I accomplish? My children arrived everywhere they needed to be in a timely manner, I saw a need and met it, even though it caused me to rearrange an entire day, I pulled off a birthday party amidst football practice and wet weather earlier in the week, and most importantly, at the end of the week my family still loved me. They love me despite the fact that my checklist was not completed. They are far more forgiving than I am.

Although I failed at my weekly checklist, I was successful in living the week according to Joshua 22:5. To love the LORD my God, to walk in obedience to him, to keep his commands, to hold fast to him and to serve him with all my heart and with all my soul. Thank you, Father, for walking with me this week and giving me strength to make it through such a crazy week.

So on to week 2. I’ll let you know how it goes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

