Train up a Child…

When you look down into the beautiful eyes of your newborn baby, and see the amazing gift that God has given you, you have no idea the heartache that you will have for that child. The physical pain that you felt during labor, is insignificant compared to the emotional hurt you will feel as you watch them grow. Training turns into guiding. Guiding is the hardest task I have been given so far. Teaching them to eat their veggies and clean their rooms now seems trivial.

Proverbs 22:6 says “Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.”

I have claimed this promise for my children. It is my utmost responsibility, the most important task God has given me.  As my children are getting older, I am questioning my ability to accomplish this task.  I doubt myself in areas that I always thought I was firm in.  And now, as the training is turning into guiding, I question whether I have trained well enough, or whether I have even begun to hit the mark.

Have I really taught them the way they should go?  Is their faith strong enough to withstand the  wiles of the devil? Will they make the right choice when faced with difficult situations?  Is their faith their own?  Can they make those difficult decisions when I’m not standing over their shoulder?

My heart cries for one child who tells me everything he encounters, and it aches for another who shares nothing.

My children are faced with choices that can affect them their entire life.  The training is over, the guiding has begun.  The guard rail is down and the lines are left in place to guide them. Praying they don’t choose the wrong road and that they will allow God to take control of their lives.

Leave a Reply

